Quinnipiac University College of Arts and Sciences

Presenting Conference Papers

In Event, Students on February 5, 2013 at 5:46 pm

blog2.5

by Glenda Pritchett, assistant professor of English

Three Quinnipiac students presented papers at the Seventh Undergraduate Conference in Medieval and Early Modern Studies at Moravian College, Bethlehem, PA, on Saturday, December 1st. Kelsey Brown (left in photo) presented “Exposing the Wife of Bath’s Façade,” based on a paper for Prof. Glenda Pritchett (EN341). Rachel Corso (right) presented “The Wife of Bath’s Joie de Vivre is the Pursuit of Power,” based on a paper for Prof. Glenda Pritchett (EN341). Andrew Lavoie (center) presented “Kingmakers: Warwick and the City of London,” based on his senior thesis for Prof. Jill Fehleison (HS408).

Reflecting on this experience, in their own words:

“The 7th Undergraduate Conference in Medieval and Early Modern Studies was my first conference as a presenter. I was initially unsure of what to expect, but I was relieved to find that the conference was very organized and full of fellow presenters. I particularly enjoyed the manner in which the presentations were divided according to topic similarity. The other students in attendance, as well as faculty, all expressed interest in the topics being presented, and asked thoughtful questions that reflected their interest. Overall, I found the conference to be an excellent experience, as it allowed me to gain practice in presenting my own work, in addition to enabling me to reflect on and appreciate the work of others.”  – Kelsey Brown

“This was actually my first conference and I’m honestly happy that I got my feet wet. I truly thought it was going to be more intimidating than it actually was and I’m really thankful that it was a supportive environment instead. I thought it was an accomplishment being accepted to attend the conference, but the different interpretations that were presented made me realize that it wasn’t about being accepted and focusing on my own work, it was more about being a receptive listener and taking ideas that I’ve learned through the conference back home. The different perspectives and connections that were being made allowed me to think about certain aspects of the medieval period in different ways and pushed me to draw new connections. However cliché this might sound, I thought the most rewarding part of this conference was the learning from the other presenters. Maybe it is just me, but I feel like sometimes people forget or neglect to recognize that we all don’t think the same way and this conference was certainly a great way to see other people’s thought processes. If I had the opportunity to attend another conference similar to this, I would go in a heartbeat.”  – Rachel Corso

“This was my second conference I presented at and I loved it just as much as I had the first one. Moravian had a great atmosphere, friendly professors, and the fellow presenters were excellent. Most of them were at their first conference and you could tell that they were nervous. When that moment came, they stood up and were excellent presenters with no sign of nerves. This is an excellent experience, one I would highly recommend for everyone and would encourage students to participate in.”  – Andrew Lavoie

Leave a Reply

